Our Ambassadors and Patrons

The Cat Empire

Melbourne-based band

The Cat Empire became global ambassadors for Children’s Ground in 2019. This amazing Melbourne-based band has ignited energy and passion around the world for over a decade. TCE have toured extensively, bringing their music across Australia, North America and Europe. As ambassadors, they are amplifying the voices of First People who are calling for change and advocating for a future where their children can enjoy a life of opportunity and hope.

Pat Cash

Tennis Champion

Pat Cash has been an ambassador of Children’s Ground since 2017. A passionate advocate for social justice, Pat has brought national and international attention to human rights issues facing Aboriginal Australians. An Australian tennis champion, Pat won the Wimbledon men’s singles title in 1987, achieved the world ranking of no. 4 and retired in 1997. Pat has gone on to co-found Planet Ark and Do Something, organisations focusing on environmental and social change

Our Patron, Aunty Joy Murphy Wandin AO

Senior Wurundjeri Elder of the Kulin Nation

Born in Healesville, Victoria, Aunty Joy’s family never left Wurundjeri country. She is the great-great niece to William Barak, the last traditional leader of the Wurundjeri-Willam clan. Her contributions to social advancements in Australia are widespread. She served on the Equal Opportunity Commission of Victoria and the Anti-Discrimination Tribunal. In 2002, Aunty Joy was awarded the Order of Australia in recognition of her contributions to social justice, land rights, equal opportunity, art and reconciliation.

MK Turner OAM

Eastern Arrernte Elder

MK Turner is a respected North Eastern Arrernte (ayerrere ikngerre) Elder, cultural adviser, translator, teacher, social justice champion, artist and author. In 1997, she received the Medal of the Order of Australia in recognition of her service to the Aboriginal community of Central Australia, through preserving language and culture, and interpreting. MK has fought for the rights of Aboriginal people for over four decades. She is dedicated to keeping Arrernte culture, life and language rich and strong.

Jan Owen AM

Honorary Doctor of Letters

Jan Owen is a social entrepreneur, innovator, influencer and author. In 2000, she was awarded membership to the Order of Australia for services to young people. She also received a degree of Doctor of Letters (honoris causa) from the University of Sydney, in recognition of her significant contribution to young people and policy in Australia. Jan was CEO of the Foundation for Young Australians and previously served as the Executive Director of Social Ventures Australia. She is the author of two books: Every Childhood Lasts a Lifetime (1996) and The Future Chasers (2014).

Rt Hon Malcolm Fraser AC CH

In memoriam

Rt Hon Malcolm Fraser served as Australia’s 22nd Prime Minister from 1975-1983. After leaving government Mr Fraser played an eminent role in international diplomacy. This first started with both the United Nations and the Commonwealth with a focus on ending apartheid in South Africa. Mr Fraser went on to become a Senior Advisor of the International Crisis Group, Honorary Chairman of InterAction Council and a member of the Asia Pacific Leadership Network for Nuclear Non-Proliferation and Disarmament. He was Chairman of CARE Australia from 1987-2001 and President of CARE International from 1990-1995. Mr Fraser received numerous Honorary Degrees and Awards, including an Honorary Doctor of Laws in 2011, from the University of Melbourne.

Rachel Naninaaq Edwardson

Film maker

Rachel Naninaaq Edwardson is an Iñupiaq filmmaker and educator. Her work has been critically acclaimed in the US, Canada, Australia and Europe. Her ongoing documentary series, History of the Iñupiaq, produced in partnership with the North Slope Borough School District, is the first Native-produced and directed documentary series in Alaska. It celebrates and validates the culture, land and strength of Iñupiaq people. Since 2007, Rachel has been an advisor and program designer of educational initiatives and reforms in Australia and Alaska.